Welcome to Faudoas, in the south-west of Tarn-et-Garonne, 6 km from Gers. A picturesque village full of character with beautiful half-timbered houses and houses on stone pillars.
A big fire at the end of the 19th century destroyed all traces of the village and the Saint-Laurent church was completely rebuilt from 1898, in a different direction than before.
Neo-Gothic in style, it has a square bell tower topped by an elegant openwork spire. Inside, the single nave opens onto 4 side chapels.
There is another original feature inside: a reproduction of the cave in Lourdes, involving a combination of wall paintings and sculptures within the chapel of the Virgin itself.
Head east from Faudoas and you will come across the modest chapel in Escudès, which dates from the 11th or the 12th century.
To the west is the Mouret mill, and the Gimone waterfall.
Here, garlic and cereals are grown alongside farms that breed fattened geese and ducks.
Maison sur piliers de pierres à Faudoas. N. Dupuy
The originality and beauty of this church lies in the quality of its murals made by René Gaillard Lala and his partner Guitard between 1934 and 1936. They represent numerous scenes from the Bible, from the Old as well as from the New Testament, in the choir.
Before leaving, be sure to admire the stained glass windows, made by Gustave Pierre Dragant, an artist from Bordeaux, in 1900.
René Gaillard Lala was a Tarn-et-Garonne painter known for his church restorations and decorations, including more than 30 in Tarn-et-Garonne. In Lomagne, he painted the colossal work of Faudoas, that of Gariès and Lavit.